We always expect travelers to honor confirmed trips, but when traveler cancellations do happen, we will inform you via text, email, and/or mobile app (depending on your preferences). Trips can only be cancelled by either the owner or the traveler before the trip officially starts.
If a traveler tells you that they have cancelled or they intend to cancel a trip, but you are not notified by Turo and the trip isn’t marked as cancelled in your Dashboard, then the trip is not officially cancelled. If you are notified of an official cancellation, that means that the trip is no longer valid and you should not give your car away to the traveler.
The amount refunded to the traveler for a cancellation depends on when they cancel the trip, and also varies by fee component (trip price, trip fee, protection fee, and, if applicable, young driver fee). If a traveler fails to cancel the trip and fails to show up for the trip, that counts as a "late cancellation" and the traveler may not receive a refund at all.
We have a traveler cancellation timeline in place because we understand that owners on Turo count on trips for income. Our cancellation policy ensures that, in the case of a last-minute cancellation, you won’t be left high and dry. You’ll still receive payment for cancelled trips depending upon how far in advance your guest cancels their trip.
If you need to cancel a trip for any reason, you as the owner have the option to cancel. When you cancel a trip, the traveler will receive a complete refund. However, you may be fined a cancellation fee if you cancel too many trips or cancel with short notice. If a traveler wants to cancel a trip and you would like to give them a complete refund, we recommend cancelling the trip yourself so that your guest receives their refund more quickly. (Please note that encouraging your traveler to cancel the trip for your own purposes is prohibited.)
You can view the cancellation payment details here, as well as our other cancellation-related policies.