Receiving request notifications
When you receive a trip request or change request, we’ll message you via text, email, and/or mobile app. A notification will also appear on Activity under your Trips tab. You can confirm or decline the request there.
Responding to requests
The amount of time you have to respond to requests depends on how far in advance a guest makes the request.
More than 10 hours in advance
- The request expires in eight hours.
- If you don’t accept or decline the request within that time, the trip isn’t booked or changed.
Four to 10 hours in advance
- Trip requests or changes to booked trips: the request expires two hours before the trip start.
- Extensions or early returns of in-progress trips: the request expires two hours before the earlier of either the original trip end time or the new request time.
One to four hours in advance
- Trip requests or changes to booked trips: the request expires in half the lead time. For example, a request for a trip to start in three hours has an approval window of an hour and a half
- Extensions or early returns of in-progress trips: the request expires in half the lead time before the earlier of either the original trip end time or the new request time.
Less than one hour in advance
- Except for Book Instantly vehicles, guests can’t make new trip requests with less than an hour’s notice.
- Requests to change a booked trip or to extend or shorten an in-progress trip will expire in one hour or by the original trip end time, whichever comes first.
Capturing trip requests
If a guest contacts you to change their trip, tell them to request the change online or in app. That way you can confirm it, and the system can capture it. Don’t agree via phone or text to extend a trip. If the request is not submitted and confirmed in our system, you won’t be paid for and your car won’t be insured for the trip change.
Receiving booking confirmations
A trip is booked when you accept a guest's request for your car. Guests can book your car without your OK if the vehicle is listed as Book Instantly. When your vehicle is booked, we’ll message you, and a notification will appear on your Trips tab.
Viewing your trips
You can see your upcoming and in-progress trips under Booked in your Trips tab. You can see pending trips requests or past trips that need to be rated under the Activity tab.
If you have more than one car listed on Turo, you can filter your requests per vehicle when you’re in the Trips tab.
If a trip doesn’t display in your Trips tab, it hasn’t been booked or it’s been canceled and is no longer a valid booking.
Never give your car away early. Trips can be canceled up until the time they start for a variety of reasons. Giving your car away without a booked trip means you won’t receive payment or protection for that trip.
Understanding price adjustments
If you accept a request to shorten a trip, you agree to any modified trip earnings that may result. Delivery discounts for longer trips are usually not affected by shortening a trip. For example, if you offered free delivery for trips longer than seven days and the guest shortens the trip to five days, they’ll still have free delivery.
All guests must meet our eligibility requirements. Before you accept a request, you can message the guest and ask about their trip plans. You can read their profile, which may include personal information, the number of trips they’ve taken, and reviews from other hosts. We set higher age restrictions and additional requirements for guests who want to book Deluxe Class and Super Deluxe Class cars.
Only the named driver on the trip is allowed to drive your vehicle. Guests can request a secondary driver, who Turo must approve. We’ll notify you if a secondary driver has been added to a trip. You can contact us to learn more about a secondary driver for a specific trip.