The most successful owners strive to honor every booked trip, but we understand that sometimes things come up.
If you need to cancel a trip, please notify the traveler immediately. We encourage you to find an alternative arrangement that works for both of you, but if that’s not possible, you should cancel the trip online ASAP.
Because cancelling a traveler’s trip can seriously disrupt their plans and impact confidence in the Turo community, we have penalties in place for owner cancellations. This includes an automated review posted on your listing, showing the cancellation. Additionally, a $50 fee will be deducted from your next payment if you cancel less than 24 hours before the start of the trip, or $25 if you cancel more than 24 hours before the start of the trip. Additionally, your placement in search results may be negatively impacted if you cancel often, and your cars may be removed from search results.
If your traveler rebooks their trip with you within 24 hours after you cancel, the cancellation review and the fee will be automatically waived. The fee will also be automatically waived if it’s your first cancellation out of your past 10 booked trips. We may waive the penalties in certain other circumstances as well.
Please note that encouraging your traveler to cancel the trip when the traveler does not wish to cancel -- in short, asking your traveler to cancel for your own purposes -- is prohibited.
Repeatedly cancelling trips or encouraging travelers to cancel on your behalf may affect your standing in our community, including removal from the marketplace.
For tips on how owners can prevent canceling trips, please feel free to contact customer support.