When you make a trip request, your payment card is authorized * but not charged.
When you book your trip, you will be charged for the full trip cost.
In the event that you incur additional fees such as additional mileage, parking tickets, cleaning fees, etc., your card will be charged after the trip ends so please be sure that your card has proper funds available.
When a trip is canceled by an owner, your payment will be available for 24 hours to use towards another trip. You can find more information about what to do when your trip is canceled here.
* If you are paying for your trip with Apple Pay or Google Wallet, your payment is charged when you request the trip.