We always expect travelers to honor confirmed trips, but we understand that things come up. Trips can only be cancelled by either the owner or the traveler before the trip officially starts.
You can cancel a trip by heading to your Dashboard and navigating to the Trips tab, then clicking on the trip in question. There, you have the option to cancel your trip or make trip changes. Select a reason for cancelling and follow the prompts to complete the process. It’s important for you to select the reason that most closely matches your circumstance.
Once the process is complete, the trip will appear as cancelled on your Dashboard. A trip that is marked as cancelled means that the trip is no longer valid and you are not authorized to receive or drive the car. If the trip still shows up as booked, it is not officially cancelled.
The amount refunded to you for a cancellation depends on when you cancel the trip, and also varies by fee component (trip price, trip fee, protection fee, and, if applicable, young driver fee and delivery fee).
If you fail to cancel the trip or you do not show up for the trip, it counts as a "late cancellation," and you may not receive a refund at all. At most, you may receive a refund for any protection, delivery, or young driver fees applied to your trip, but it is very important that you contact Turo beforehand if you are having trouble cancelling a trip on your own.
We have a traveler cancellation timeline in place because owners on Turo count on trips for income. Our cancellation policy ensures that, in the case of a last-minute cancellation or a no-show, Turo owners won’t be left high and dry.
If the owner cancels your trip, you will receive a complete refund. The owner must cancel the trip through the system for it to be a valid cancellation, as well.
You can view the cancellation charge details here, as well as our other cancellation-related policies.